New-customer event$50 off first pair·Buy 2 save 50%·Shop →

Announced vs. available · 2026

Samsung smart glasses: announced, not on sale.

Samsung showed its intelligent eyewear twice this year — at Google I/O in May and at Galaxy Unpacked in July — and so far has given it a fall window, no price and no sale date. This guide lists what Samsung has actually said, dated to its own newsroom, what it hasn't, and what a Galaxy or Android owner can wear this week.

Still deciding? Get the M08, M02C and M14 comparison in your inbox, with your new-customer price already applied.

One email with the comparison, one follow-up a few days later. Unsubscribe any time.

What Samsung has confirmed, with dates

People searching “samsung smart glasses” are usually asking two questions at once: is it real, and can I buy it. The first answer is yes. The second, as of September 25, 2026, is not yet. Here is the confirmed record, taken only from Samsung’s own newsroom:

  • May 19, 2026 — first look at Google I/O.Samsung and Google showed two premium styles made with Gentle Monster and Warby Parker, described as a companion device to a Galaxy phone with Gemini voice help, navigation, notification summaries, photo capture and real-time translation. The release closes with the line that matters to buyers: the first collections “are scheduled to launch this fall in select markets, with additional details to be announced in the coming months.”
  • July 22, 2026 — Galaxy Unpacked, London. Samsung named the product intelligent eyewear and added hardware detail: a built-in camera, a Snapdragon platform, touch interaction, up to nine hours on a single charge and up to seven additional full charges from the charging case. The Gentle Monster edition is a slim black frame; the Warby Parker style is a brown frame with an upswept brow line.
  • July 31, 2026 — engineering interview.Samsung’s head of XR R&D described a camera, microphones and speakers in the frame, split computing with the connected Galaxy phone, a bystander-facing recording LED, wear detection that disables recording when the glasses come off, and gesture control through Galaxy Watch9.

Reporting from the same Unpacked adds two useful points. CNBC reported the chip as a Snapdragon AR1 Gen1, that the glasses must be tethered to a smartphone, and that Samsung would position them as premium and sell them through its partners’ sales channels.

What Samsung has not announced

The gaps are as important as the facts, because most “release date and price” articles fill them with guesses:

  • Price. No figure from Samsung. Its executive told CNBC the glasses would not be at the lower end. An IDC analyst in the same article guessed $600 to $700; that is one outside estimate, not a Samsung number.
  • Sale date.“This fall” in “select markets” is a season and a scope, not a date or a country list.
  • Prescription.Samsung says each partner offers “lens options.” It has not published whether those include prescriptions, what range, or at what cost.
  • Non-Galaxy phones.Samsung’s footnotes say features may require a compatible Galaxy device. Support for other Android phones or iPhone is not stated.
  • Camera resolution, weight and water rating. Not in either release.

We treat every one of those as blank, not as an estimate. Our Google Android XR guide covers the platform side of the same partnership, and our Apple guide covers the other big-tech frame people are waiting on.

What ships today: four frames for an Android phone

If what you want from Samsung’s glasses is the working core — a camera at eye level, audio that leaves your ears open, and translation without holding up a phone — that already exists. All four pair with Android phones, Galaxy included, through a free companion app over Bluetooth 5.4. Cheapest first:

1. OXIVUE M08 · $149 — the entry point

  • ~42 g TR90 frame; 8 MP camera; open-ear directional audio; Bluetooth 5.4.
  • Two-way translation across 40+ languages through the app.
  • Three interchangeable lenses: sunglasses, photochromic, clear.
  • ~300 mAh — 7 h listening, 4 h calls, 2 h video.

2. OXIVUE M02C · $159 — weather and visual AI

  • ~41 g; IP65 water rating; magnetic pogo charging; ~290 mAh.
  • Sony 219 sensor with dual stabilization; 8 MP capture.
  • “Hey Cyan” wake word with visual AI — ask about what you see.
  • 40+ languages; sunglass, photochromic and clear lenses.

3. OXIVUE M08C · $169 — metal trim

  • The M08 platform with gold or silver trim; 6 variants (2 metals × 3 lenses).
  • ~42 g; 8 MP; ~300 mAh; 7 h listening, 4 h calls; 40+ languages.

4. OXIVUE M14 · $199 — the wrap shield

  • 52 g; 150 × 56 × 169 mm; IPX4.
  • 8 MP Sony IMX219; 1080p 30 fps video with electronic image stabilization.
  • 139 languages through the HeyCyan app.
  • 300 mAh — 4 h listening, 7 h calls (the reverse of the M08 family); 4 GB onboard.
  • Fixed one-piece PC shield in four colorways — no interchangeable lenses.

U.S. orders of the M08 and M08C in sunglass or clear lenses, and the M02C in sunglass lenses, ship from our U.S. warehouse in 5–9 business days. Photochromic lenses, the M02C in clear, the M14 and all international orders ship in 9–14 business days. Shipping is free over $99. Every frame is on the spec comparison page.

What we publish that a launch announcement doesn’t

We are not going to claim our glasses do something Samsung’s cannot — nobody outside Samsung has a spec sheet to compare. What we can offer is a list of things we write down, each checkable on this site today:

  1. The price, per frame, on every product page: $149, $159, $169, $199.
  2. Weight in grams for every frame, including the heavier M14 at 52 g.
  3. Battery as two numbers, not one: listening and calls separately, because on the M14 they are inverted against the M08 family.
  4. Camera resolution: 8 MP on all four, with the sensor named where we have it.
  5. Water ratings as rating classes: IP65 on the M02C, IPX4 on the M14, and no claim on the rest.
  6. That translation is two-way and needs a data connection on the paired phone — how it works, delay included.
  7. That there is no prescription option — our prescription guide explains why and ranks the workarounds.
  8. That there is no display, no HUD and no AR overlay on any frame.
  9. The refund rule in one line: no refunds except transit damage, which is replaced or refunded; faults after delivery are repaired or replaced under the 2-year warranty. Details on the return policy.
  10. That no platform account and no subscription are needed — why that matters.

Samsung intelligent eyewear vs. OXIVUE, side by side

Samsung cells come from its May 19, July 22 and July 31 newsroom posts, plus CNBC where marked. Where Samsung has published nothing, the cell says so rather than guessing.

Samsung intelligent eyewear (announced)OXIVUE (shipping)
Can you buy it todayNo — “this fall in select markets”Yes — in stock
PriceNot announced; “premium” (CNBC)$149 · $159 · $169 · $199
PhoneCompanion to Galaxy phones; others not statediOS or Android, Galaxy included
CameraBuilt-in; resolution not announced8 MP on all four frames
AssistantGemini, on Android XRCompanion app; “Hey Cyan” visual AI on M02C
TranslationLive translation announced; languages not listed40+ languages (M08 family) · 139 (M14)
BatteryUp to 9 h per charge + 7 full charges from case7 h listen / 4 h call (M08, M08C) · 4 h / 7 h (M14)
WeightNot announced~41–42 g (M08 family) · 52 g (M14)
Water ratingNot announcedIP65 (M02C) · IPX4 (M14)
Prescription“Lens options”; Rx terms not announcedNot offered
Recording indicatorBystander LED + inner LED; wear detectionNot listed on our spec sheet
Where it’s soldPartners’ sales channels (CNBC)oxivue.com

Two rows cut against us, and we left them in. Samsung has published a total battery figure with a charging case, which none of our frames includes. And Samsung has described a bystander recording LED and wear-detection lockout in detail; that row is not on our spec sheet, so we are not claiming it.

Who should wait, who should buy

Wait for Samsung if…

  • You want Gemini, Galaxy Gallery, Galaxy Watch gestures and Buds hand-off wired into your eyewear.
  • You need prescription lenses and are willing to see what the partners announce.
  • You are comfortable with a premium price that has not been named yet.

Buy today if…

  • You want camera, open-ear audio and translation for a trip or season that starts before “this fall” resolves.
  • You want a published price between $149 and $199 rather than an estimate.
  • You want glasses that pair with an Android phone or an iPhone, without a platform account.

If you are comparing the whole field rather than just Samsung, our Meta glasses competitors guide maps every tier.

Bottom line

Samsung’s intelligent eyewear is real, it has a camera, Gemini and a nine-hour battery claim, and it is not on sale: the company’s own words are “this fall in select markets,” with no price and no prescription terms. If you are on an Android or Galaxy phone and want the camera-audio-translation core now, the M08 at $149 is where to start, the M02C at $159 adds IP65 and visual AI, the M08C at $169 adds metal trim, and the M14 at $199 brings 139-language translation in a wrap shield. Still deciding between frames? Read the under-$200 buyer’s guide.

Frequently asked questions

When is the Samsung smart glasses release date?

Samsung has not given a date. Its newsroom first showed the intelligent eyewear at Google I/O on May 19, 2026, and introduced it at Galaxy Unpacked in London on July 22, 2026. The May release says the first collections are scheduled to launch this fall in select markets, with additional details to be announced in the coming months; the July release added hardware detail but no date. As of September 25, 2026 there is no pre-order page and no day of sale on Samsung's newsroom.

How much will Samsung's AI glasses cost?

Samsung has not announced a price. Its executive told CNBC the glasses would be positioned as a premium product, not at the lower end, and sold through its eyewear partners' channels. An IDC analyst quoted in the same article guessed $600 to $700 — that is an outside estimate, not a Samsung figure. For comparison, OXIVUE's in-stock AI glasses are $149, $159, $169 and $199, published on each product page.

Can you get Samsung smart glasses with prescription lenses?

Samsung's July 22 release says the Gentle Monster and Warby Parker editions offer a range of frame styles, colors and lens options. None of Samsung's newsroom posts published prescription terms, ranges or pricing, so the honest answer today is: not announced. OXIVUE does not offer prescription lenses either — the M08 family ships with non-prescription photochromic, sunglass and clear lenses, and the M14 uses a fixed shield.

Will Samsung's glasses work with an iPhone?

Samsung describes the eyewear as a companion device to Galaxy phones and other Galaxy wearables, and its footnotes say features may require a compatible Galaxy device. It has not published whether any non-Galaxy phone is supported. OXIVUE glasses pair over Bluetooth 5.4 with a free companion app on either iOS or Android, including Galaxy phones.

Do Samsung's smart glasses have a display?

Samsung's releases describe a built-in camera, microphones and speakers, a Snapdragon platform and Gemini. None of Samsung's three newsroom posts lists an in-lens display among the hardware. No OXIVUE frame has a display either; ours are camera, audio and translation glasses.

Is there a Samsung smart glasses alternative for Android I can buy now?

Yes. The OXIVUE M08 ($149) has an 8 MP camera, open-ear audio, Bluetooth 5.4, two-way translation across 40+ languages and three interchangeable lenses at about 42 g. The M02C ($159) adds IP65 and a Hey Cyan wake word; the M08C ($169) adds gold or silver trim; the M14 ($199, 52 g, IPX4) translates 139 languages. All pair with Android phones, need no platform account and carry a 2-year warranty.

OXIVUE M08$149.00
Shop now