XREAL · Android XR · 2026
XREAL Project Aura is now XREAL AURA: price, release date and what it is
XREAL Project Aura, the Android XR glasses XREAL showed with Google, opened for orders in the US, Canada and Korea on October 28, 2026 under the name XREAL AURA. This guide sets out what the makers' own pages say about its price, release date, countries and specifications as of October 31, 2026, how it differs from camera and audio AI glasses, and what to check before you order.
Still deciding? Get the M02C, M08 and M08C comparison in your inbox, with your new-customer price already applied.
One email with the comparison, one follow-up a few days later. Unsubscribe any time.
1. What XREAL Project Aura is, and why it is now called AURA
XREAL Project Aura is a pair of wired Android XR glasses with a separate compute puck, and since launch it has been sold as XREAL AURA. Google’s launch post, dated October 28, 2026, describes AURA as “wired XR glasses powered by Android XR” (checked October 31, 2026). XREAL’s product page and Google’s Android XR page (both checked October 31, 2026) use the name AURA, and neither uses the words “Project Aura”. Earlier coverage and XREAL’s May 19, 2026 blog post used the project name.
9to5Google’s running guide (checked October 31, 2026) uses both names for XREAL’s Android XR glasses without saying it was renamed, so we treat them as one product. UploadVR’s look at the demo clip (December 8, 2025) described a tethered compute puck running Google’s Android XR on a Qualcomm Snapdragon chipset, with built-in head and hand tracking and a see-through prism-lens design that imitates the look of sunglasses. It called the glasses a lightweight alternative to Samsung Galaxy XR.
In plain terms, from the makers’ descriptions: you wear the glasses, a cable runs to a portable puck that holds the processor and battery, and apps appear in the room in front of you. That is a different product from camera and audio AI glasses, as section 5 explains.
2. Release date: where it stands on October 31, 2026
AURA is open for orders in the US, Canada and Korea, with Japan following on November 2, and Google puts a mid-November shipping start in its BestBuy.com clause. Google’s launch post says orders open the day it was published, October 28, 2026, in the US, Canada and Korea and on November 2 in Japan, through xreal.com/aura or, in the US, at BestBuy.com “with shipments beginning in mid-November” (checked October 31, 2026). The post gives no shipping date for the other countries. Its footnote lists the US, Canada, Japan and Korea as the available countries. Android Headlines (October 29, 2026) reports a mid-November start without that limit and adds that select Google Store locations will carry it in 2027; that is reported, not on Google’s post.
XREAL’s May 19, 2026 post said Project Aura would launch globally in 2026, and the launch pages we read name four countries. None of the maker pages we read says AURA can be ordered in the UK, the EU, Australia or any market beyond those four. For those countries the status is no announcement found (checked October 31, 2026), so ask XREAL before you pay.
| Date | Source | What it said | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 8, 2025 | UploadVR | Google and XREAL say Project Aura is on track to launch in 2026; 70-degree field of view | Reported |
| May 19, 2026 | XREAL blog | Project Aura will launch globally in 2026; no price or country list | Announced |
| Oct 7, 2026 | 9to5Google | $199 Priority Deposit for preorders, credited toward the price; first delivery wave “before the holidays” | Reported |
| Oct 28, 2026 | Google blog | Orders open in the US, Canada and Korea (Japan Nov 2); BestBuy.com clause gives shipments from mid-November; launch pricing from $1,099 through the end of the year | Announced |
| Oct 29, 2026 | Android Headlines | Launch pricing runs through December; mid-November shipping start; select Google Store locations in 2027 | Reported |
3. Price: from $1,099 at launch
XREAL’s product page (checked October 31, 2026) lists two configurations in US dollars and describes the launch pricing this way: “Through the end of the year, XREAL AURA is available starting at $1,099.” Google’s post gives launch pricing starting at $1,099 through the end of the year. Android Headlines (October 29, 2026) says the launch pricing runs through December.
| Configuration | Launch price on XREAL’s page |
|---|---|
| 12GB memory + 256GB storage | $1,099 |
| 16GB memory + 512GB storage | $1,299 |
Google’s post does not state a price for after the launch pricing ends, and XREAL’s page shows other figures beside these two launch prices that we do not reproduce here. On October 7, 2026, 9to5Google reported that preorders needed a $199 “Priority Deposit” credited toward the price, and that choosing the medium or large size costs nothing extra. XREAL’s spec table lists an M size for interpupillary distances of 60–66 mm and an L size for 66–72 mm.
Before the launch, XREAL had said AURA would cost under $1,500, according to 9to5Google. The figures above are what the pages we read showed on October 31, 2026. Check XREAL’s store for the price that applies when you order and for what is included: Google’s post (checked October 31, 2026) does not describe what the price includes, and XREAL’s page does not list box contents.
4. Specifications on XREAL’s page
The 70-degree field of view is a figure both XREAL and Google state: XREAL’s page lists it with X Prism optics, and Google says it “gives you plenty of room” for spatial and 2D apps. XREAL’s page gives a battery capacity for the puck and none for the glasses, and Google’s post gives no battery life. The table below is from XREAL’s own page, checked October 31, 2026, plus Google’s weight figure.
| Spec | As listed by XREAL |
|---|---|
| Field of view | 70° (X Prism optics) |
| Display | Sony Micro-OLED, 1920 × 1200 per eye, up to 120 Hz, up to 1050 nits peak; optical see-through with five electrochromic dimming levels |
| Weight | Glasses 95 g (Google: under 95 grams); computing puck 265 g |
| Chips | XREAL X1S Spatial Coprocessor in the glasses; Snapdragon Reality Elite platform in the puck |
| Memory and storage | 12GB + 256GB or 16GB + 512GB |
| Cameras and tracking | Two world-facing tracking cameras, a high-resolution camera with a privacy LED indicator; 6DoF spatial anchoring and hand tracking |
| Battery | Puck 4,455 mAh; glasses battery not listed |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi 6/6E, Bluetooth 5.3, GPS/GNSS; USB-C connections to the glasses and for charging or DisplayPort input |
| Software | Android XR with Google Play apps |
| Prescription | “Personalized Prescription Lenses” listed; how they attach is not on the page |
On apps, XREAL’s page cites “hundreds of apps designed specifically for XR” on top of Google Play’s mobile and tablet apps, while Google’s post cites access to millions of Google Play apps and “over 150 apps made for XR”. Google’s post also says Gemini on Android XR “understands what you’re seeing and doing”, in the real world and on your screens, and that a laptop connected with a USB-C cable that supports video output can mirror its screen into AURA.
5. How AURA differs from camera and audio AI glasses
AURA carries its own computer: Google says the puck holds the battery and the Snapdragon Reality Elite platform, and the glasses show Android XR apps in a see-through display. Google’s Android XR page (checked October 31, 2026) shows three kinds of glasses. AURA’s card has a Buy now link, the two audio-glasses cards have Learn more links, and the display glasses read “Stay tuned”.
| Kind | Google’s wording | Status on October 31, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| XREAL AURA (wired XR glasses with a puck) | “XREAL AURA is here” | Orders open; BestBuy.com clause gives shipments from mid-November; no price on Google’s Android XR page |
| Audio glasses (partner brands Gentle Monster and Warby Parker) | “Coming soon”; the first collections “will be launching this fall” | Announced; no price on Google’s page |
| Display glasses | “Stay tuned” | No date or price announcement found (checked October 31, 2026) |
That split matters if you are shopping for “AI glasses”. Audio glasses from Google’s partner brands are covered in our Gentle Monster smart glasses guide and the wider Google AI glasses guide. Google’s page labels them as coming soon. AURA has a Buy now link on that page, and XREAL lists it from $1,099 against $99 at checkout for our M08. It is a different job: AURA is a see-through display for spatial apps and a laptop screen in a resizable window, and the M08 has no display.
AURA does list cameras (see the table in section 4). If you want the background on XREAL’s earlier display glasses, see XREAL alternatives. For how display glasses differ from AR in the strict sense, see augmented glasses explained, and for the other display options on sale, smart glasses with a display.
6. Who it is for, and what to check before you order
AURA suits someone who wants spatial apps, or a laptop screen shown in a resizable window, from a wearable and is happy to carry a puck on a cable. Before you pay, check these points, each taken from the pages above:
- Country.Google’s post lists the US, Canada, Japan and Korea, with Japan opening on November 2.
- Age and account.Google’s footnote reads “Setup required”, “Compatible account required, 18+”.
- The cable and the puck.The glasses are wired to a puck that weighs 265 g on XREAL’s page. Google says the glasses weigh under 95 grams.
- Your devices.XREAL’s page does not mention iPhone, iOS or any phone. Google describes mirroring a laptop over a USB-C cable that supports video output.
- Prescription. XREAL lists personalized prescription lenses and points to compatible lenses and fitting guidance. Ask how they attach and what they cost before you order.
- Reviews. None of the pages we read is a hands-on review of the retail product, and Google gives mid-November as the BestBuy.com shipping start. Wait for reviews of units that have shipped if the price is a stretch.
One more point to hold loosely: this is a launch-week picture. The launch-pricing end date, the country list and the shipping start are as the pages said on October 31, 2026. Google’s Android XR page carries a general footnote, “Products under development and subject to change”, on its line about devices available now; it does not say which products it covers.
7. Where OXIVUE fits: no display, no puck
OXIVUE does not make anything like AURA. Our frames have no display, take no prescription lenses and do not run Meta AI. The M08 ($99 at checkout) is a camera and open-ear audio frame: an 8 MP camera, about 42 g, rated 7 hours of listening and 4 hours of calls, in a sun, photochromic or clear lens. Capture starts only with a touch on the temple, and you should ask before recording people.
The M02C($109 at checkout, about 41 g) adds a voice-activated visual assistant. OXIVUE does not publish which AI model powers the M02C’s voice-activated visual assistant. Both frames translate 40+ languages through the free companion app, with the translated audio heard only by the wearer. Compare every model on the comparison page.
Shipping, refunds and warranty. Free shipping from $99. US orders typically arrive in 5–9 business days. International orders take 9–14 business days after shipment. Import VAT or duties outside the US are paid by the recipient. No refunds except transit damage (replaced or refunded); faults are repaired or replaced under the 2-year warranty; change of mind and unmet expectations are not refundable. None of our frames take prescription lenses. Read the refund policy and the shipping policy.
Frequently asked questions
What is the XREAL Project Aura release date?
Orders opened on October 28, 2026 in the US, Canada and Korea (November 2 in Japan), and Google puts a mid-November shipping start in its BestBuy.com clause. Google's launch post (checked October 31, 2026) names xreal.com/aura and, in the US, BestBuy.com. Android Headlines (October 29, 2026) reports a mid-November start without that limit. The product is now sold as XREAL AURA. None of the maker pages we read gives an order or shipping date for any other country.
How much does XREAL Project Aura cost?
From $1,099 for the 12GB + 256GB model and $1,299 for the 16GB + 512GB model, as launch pricing (checked October 31, 2026). XREAL's page says the launch pricing runs through the end of the year; Android Headlines reports through December. Google's post does not state a price for after that, and XREAL's page shows other figures beside these two that we do not reproduce. On October 7, 2026, 9to5Google reported a $199 Priority Deposit for preorders. These are US dollar figures; check XREAL's store for the price that applies when you order.
Is there an XREAL Project Aura review?
Not one we can cite for the shipping product. Orders opened on October 28, 2026 and Google gives mid-November as the BestBuy.com shipping start, and none of the pages behind this guide is a hands-on review of a retail unit. They are the makers' own pages and news reports: UploadVR's December 8, 2025 look at a demo clip, 9to5Google's October 7, 2026 pricing report and running guide, and Android Headlines' October 29, 2026 launch report. Read hands-on reviews of the retail glasses before spending $1,099 or more.
Does XREAL Project Aura work with an iPhone?
XREAL's page does not say. Its product page (checked October 31, 2026) does not mention iPhone, iOS or any phone. It describes AURA running Android XR on its own Snapdragon puck, with apps from Google Play and Bluetooth keyboards, mice and game controllers for input. Google's launch post describes mirroring a laptop over a USB-C cable that supports video output and lists a compatible account as required. Ask XREAL whether your phone is supported before you order.
Does XREAL Project Aura have a camera?
Yes. XREAL's page (checked October 31, 2026) lists two world-facing tracking cameras and a high-resolution camera with a privacy LED indicator, alongside 6DoF tracking and hand tracking. XREAL describes AURA itself as a spatial computing platform in a lightweight, portable pair of glasses. Google's launch post does not mention a camera. Check the listing for what the high-resolution camera is used for before you rely on it for photos or video.
Is XREAL Project Aura the same as Google's Android XR glasses?
No. AURA is one of three kinds of glasses on Google's Android XR page (checked October 31, 2026), not the whole line. Project Aura, now AURA, is XREAL's wired XR glasses with a compute puck, introduced there as "XREAL AURA is here". The same page lists audio glasses from partner brands Gentle Monster and Warby Parker as "Coming soon" (first collections "launching this fall") and display glasses as "Stay tuned", with no price for any of the glasses and no date for the display glasses.
Do OXIVUE glasses do what XREAL AURA does?
No. OXIVUE frames have no display, no compute puck and no prescription lenses. The M08 is $99 at checkout and the M02C is $109, weighing about 42 g and 41 g (prices checked 2026-10-31; checkout price may change). Both are camera and open-ear audio glasses, and capture starts only with a touch on the temple. If you want a screen or spatial apps, AURA is the category to look at; if you want light camera and audio frames, see the picks above.
OXIVUE frames side by side
OXIVUE M08$99 at checkout | OXIVUE M02C$109 at checkout | OXIVUE M08C$119 at checkout | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Camera | 8 MP | 8 MP | 8 MP |
| Weight | ~42 g | ~41 g | ~42 g |
| Water rating | — | IP65 | — |
| Lenses | Sunglasses · Photochromic · Clear | Sunglasses · Photochromic · Clear | Sunglasses · Photochromic · Clear |
| Translation | 40+ languages | 40+ languages | 40+ languages |
| Visual AI | — | Yes | — |
| Metal trim | — | — | Gold · Silver |
From each frame’s product page. Every model: open-ear audio, Bluetooth 5.4, no subscription. Full spec table
What these frames won’t do
- No prescription lenses yet, on any model. If you need vision correction all day, these can't replace your glasses.
- No display. Nothing appears in your view; you hear answers and capture photos and video.
- Open-ear speakers leak some sound at high volume and won't block out a loud train or a windy road the way sealed earbuds do.
- Translation, music, calls and the assistant need your phone nearby and connected. Translation pauses after each sentence, and only you hear the translated audio; the other person reads the reply on your phone.
- M08: no published water rating, so keep it out of heavy rain and spray.
Check these before you order: see the warranty and refund policy.


